AfterDawn: Tech news

WhatsApp added one of the most anticipated features

Written by Matti Vähäkainu (Google+) @ 28 Oct 2017 17:26 User comments (1)

WhatsApp added one of the most anticipated features World's most popular instant messaging platform has announced a new feature. WhatsApp, a mobile messaging platform that has attracted over one billion users, has added a deleting feature to its app.
New feature is as simple as it sounds: it allows users to delete sent messages. However, you've been able to remove the messages from your app even before but now the messages can be removed from even the recipients devices.

The new delete function can be found within the post editing tools. Now when you long press the message and select the delete function (the trashcan icon) you'll be hit with a dialog asking whether you want it deleted from all devices or your device only. Previously you didn't have the former option.

There are some limitations, obviously. You can only delete – or perhaps cancelling would be a more apt term – messages from all devices if they've been sent within seven minutes. After that you'll only be able to remove the post from your own apps.

Also to not confuse people, WhatsApp replaces the message with one saying the original message has been deleted.

The feature will hit your iPhone or Android device in the coming weeks so you might not have the update yet on your mobile device.

Tags: WhatsApp
Previous Next  

1 user comment

129.10.2017 3:25

Sounds great. I often wondered whether the WhatsApp maker will catch on to this. Neat indeed.

Comments have been disabled for this article.

News archive