AfterDawn: Tech news

Guide: How to Kick Unwanted Guests from Your Netflix Account

Written by Matti Robinson @ 26 Jan 2023 2:14 User comments (2)

Guide: How to Kick Unwanted Guests from Your Netflix Account

Sharing a Netflix account with a person in a different location is possible and indeed very common, although the company doesn't necessarily enjoy this behavior from their customers.
However, sometimes sharing of accounts happens even without the knowledge or approval of the account owner. Perhaps the Netflix account was logged in to a TV of an ex-partner, or children have shared the passwords with their friends. Occasionally hacked Netflix accounts are also shared online.

The disadvantages of allowing unwanted guests to use your Netflix account are many. Some of the more important reasons include the following. First is the moral quandary; someone else is using a service I pay for. Another one is that the other user can totally mess up the recommendation algorithm, which is important in finding new content that matches your tastes. And thirdly, this is technically against the User Agreement, which can result in the termination of the service.

Fortunately, Netflix has made it easier for users to kick out unwanted guests. One way to do that was always to switch the password. This would result in changing passwords to all legit devices, and now there's a much faster and more convenient way. Netflix mobile app has a feature, which allows the account holder to check which devices have used the Netflix account recently and from which parts of the world.



1. To check this information, first, log in to your Netflix account (if necessary), and then click the Profiles & More link in the top right of the screen (profile icon).



2. Then click Account selection.



3. Navigate down a little until you see Manage access and devices, and click that link.



4. Here you'll see a list of all the devices that have signed into the Netflix account. The data also shows which profile they have been using recently, at what time and date, and in which location this has occurred. Underneath each login information, there's a Sign Out button, which will sign that specific device out of Netflix.



However, it is worth noting that if a user has your Netflix password, they will still be able to log back into the service. This might not always be the case, for example, if you or someone else in the household has typed it in. If they are able to log in again, the safest way to keep them out is to change the password.

Tags: Netflix
Previous Next  

2 user comments

125.7.2023 07:29

Sign in to your Netflix account on an internet browser.
Go to "Record" and select "Sign out of all gadgets" to log out anybody utilizing your record.
Change your Netflix secret word to forestall unapproved access.
Survey the "Review Movement" to detect new streams and snap "Sign out" close to dubious gadgets.
Think about empowering two-factor validation for an additional layer of safety.

223.8.2023 15:43

Univold is an American distributor of information technology products and services. The company is based in California, U.S. and has privately owned Company

Comments have been disabled for this article.

Latest news

Sideloading apps to Android gets easier, as Google settles its lawsuit Sideloading apps to Android gets easier, as Google settles its lawsuit (19 Dec 2023 11:09)
Google settled its lawsuit in September 2023, and one of the settlement terms was that the way applications are installed on Android from outside the Google Play Store must become simpler. In the future, installing APK files will be easier.
3 user comments
Roomba Combo j7+ review - Clever trick allows robot vacuum finally to tackle home with rugs and carpets Roomba Combo j7+ review - Clever trick allows robot vacuum finally to tackle home with rugs and carpets (06 Jun 2023 9:19)
Roomba Combo j7+ is the very first Roomba model to combine robot vacuum with mopping features. And Roomba Combo j7+ does all that with a very clever trick, which tackles the problem with mopping and carpets. But is it any good? We found out.
Neato, the robot vacuum company, ends its operations Neato, the robot vacuum company, ends its operations (02 May 2023 3:38)
Neato Robotics has ceased its operations. American robot vacuum pioneer founded in 2005 has finally called it quits and company will cease its operations and sales. Only a skeleton crew will remain who will keep the servers running until 2028.
5 user comments
How to Send Messages to Yourself on WhatsApp How to Send Messages to Yourself on WhatsApp (20 Mar 2023 1:25)
The world's most popular messaging platform, Meta-owned WhatsApp has enabled sending messages to yourself. While at first, this might seem like an odd feature, it can be very useful in a lot of situations. ....
18 user comments
How to Enable Bluetooth on Stadia Controller How to Enable Bluetooth on Stadia Controller (11 Feb 2023 1:04)
Google shut down its streaming game service Stadia late last month and this means that some people have Stadia controllers lying around that seem to be of no use. That is fortunately not the ....
2 user comments

News archive